Google has officially started the process of shutting down and deleting all consumer accounts on its Google+ social network platform,
What is Google Plus?
Google Plus was launched in 2011 to compete with Facebook, but it failed to take off, despite the fact that the company made it easy for people to create a Google+ page by accident, leaving many unaware they had joined the social network in the first place.
The company posted that Google+ is being phased out due to “low usage.” However, it could also be because it turned into something of a security liability for Google; the company has disclosed two significant data leaks that could have exposed information for tens of millions of Google+ users to outside developers. The first vulnerability, which was kept secret for months, prompted Google to decide it was time to close Google+ for good, and the second led to the company accelerating those shutdown plans by four months, meaning the service will meet its end in April instead of August.
Starting on April 2, content from consumer Google Plus accounts will be deleted and the accounts and pages you have created will shut down. This includes photos and videos in your Album Archive and your Google Plus pages.
If you want to save the images and videos, you have to do it before April. It is important to note, this doesn’t affect any of the content you have backed in Google Photos.
The change will also affect consumer users from your circles and communities, which will be removed. Communities outside your domain without at least one G Suite owner will be deleted. And your users won’t be able to create public communities outside your domain.